Own use or investment near the Haram
Most buyers from abroad want a home near the Haram for Umrah, family and retirement, and some want rent and resale. The rules treat the two motives differently. Short-term letting is licensed and, on the sources we have, closed to non-Saudi owners, leaving a unit empty can attract a fee, and there is little published yield data.
Updated 10 September 20267 min readNext How do I buy from abroad?
In brief
Renting a residential unit to tourists short-term requires a Ministry of Tourism private tourism hospitality facility permit (Ministerial Decision 2295 of 19/5/1444H), applied for on the TLG portal for SAR 1,100 a year, and the sources reviewed state the applicant must be a Saudi citizen, with a limit of 3 permits per building and 8 per person.
Raghdan Real Estate · 1 Jun 2025
Every residential and commercial lease in Saudi Arabia, whatever its term, must be registered on REGA's Ejar platform or it is unenforceable; a tenant can register the contract if the landlord refuses, and the landlord may object within 60 days.
Trowers & Hamlins · 1 Aug 2025
Regulations approved on 13 May 2026 introduce a vacant-property fee of up to 5% per year of value for buildings unused for six months or more, in zones to be announced.
SPA · 13 May 2026
JLL reported that in Q2 2026 Makkah hotel occupancy rose 4.0 percentage points year on year to 68.2% with RevPAR up 8.7%, while Madinah recorded the Kingdom's highest occupancy at 75.1% with RevPAR down 2.4%.
GDN · 26 Aug 2026
The non-Saudi ownership fee is levied by REGA on 'the value of a non-Saudi's disposition of real rights in property in the Kingdom' (Law Art. 9; Executive Regulations Art. 9), wording that does not state whether purchase, sale or both are covered.
REGA · 25 Jul 2025
Hajj 2026 had 1,707,301 pilgrims, of whom 1,546,655 came from abroad.
GASTAT · 1 Jun 2026
The detail below matters most to the smaller group of buyers, those who want a unit that pays for itself. Short-term letting to pilgrims is a licensed activity and, on the sources we have found, the licence is issued only to Saudi citizens. Long leases are open to you, but there is no published yield figure for Makkah (Mecca) or Madinah (Medina) residential property, so any return you are promised is an estimate. A unit left empty for half the year can also, in zones yet to be named, attract an annual fee of up to 5% of its value.
Below, the two motives are set side by side so you can weigh them, without a recommendation either way.
Buying to use it yourself
The case for own use is simple and does not depend on market data. Ownership in Makkah and Madinah is open to Muslim individuals whether they live inside or outside the Kingdom, so a family in Manchester or Kuala Lumpur can hold a home near the Haram in its own name. Ownership is the right the law grants; usufruct of up to 99 years remains available as a lighter alternative for those who prefer it, and on the portal’s zone cards that figure is the maximum usufruct duration and places no limit on ownership.
The practical questions for an own-use buyer are about location, building services and how many weeks a year the unit will be used. Each designated zone has its own page on this site, and the eligibility card on each tells you what applies there. The costs on top of the price are the same whichever motive you have: Real Estate Transaction Tax of 5% of the transaction value, the 2% non-Saudi ownership fee in Makkah and Madinah, and a default broker commission of 2.5% if you use one.
The own-use buyer’s main risks are the empty-unit charge, covered below, and the running costs of a home used a few weeks a year.
Buying to rent it out
Here the rules are stricter.
Renting a residential unit by the night to visitors requires a private tourism hospitality facility permit from the Ministry of Tourism, applied for on its TLG portal for SAR 1,100 a year, and the sources we reviewed state that the applicant must be a Saudi citizen, with a limit of 3 permits per building and 8 per person. The ministry’s own page was not reachable when we checked, and we have found no announcement that the citizenship condition has been changed for the new non-Saudi owners. Separately, Gulf News reported in January 2023 that Saudi citizens could obtain permits to house Hajj pilgrims, capped at three per person in one property after an engineering inspection; that report stands on its own, and Hajj housing rules are set each season. If Umrah-season nightly income is the whole point of your purchase, get written confirmation from the Ministry of Tourism, or from a licensed hospitality operator who would hold the permit, before you commit.
For long-term leases, the ownership law and its executive regulations contain no clause restricting a non-Saudi owner from leasing; the fee provisions speak of the non-Saudi’s “disposition” of real rights and say nothing about rent. What does apply is the general rule: every residential or commercial lease, whatever its term, must be registered on REGA’s Ejar platform or it is unenforceable, and a tenant can register it if the landlord will not, with the landlord able to object within 60 days. Registering through Ejar requires the Saudi digital ID, bank account and mobile number you already needed to buy.
On yields, the research houses publish prices, transaction counts and hotel performance for the two cities, and no residential rental yield. Treat a yield quoted by a seller as that seller’s assumption, and ask to see the leases behind it.
What the market data does say
The numbers below cover whole cities, with no separate figure for the streets near the Haram, and they come from named research houses.
The same review put Madinah’s first-half 2025 residential transaction value up 49% year on year at SAR 3.4 billion with volumes up 38%, while Makkah’s transaction value fell 33% as volumes rose 11%. A later press report of GASTAT’s price index for Q2 2026, which we have not yet corroborated with the GASTAT release itself, put the national index up 1.3% with Makkah region up 0.4% and Madinah down 4.5%.
Hotel figures come closest to measuring pilgrim demand, and JLL reported that in Q2 2026 Makkah hotel occupancy rose 4.0 percentage points to 68.2% with RevPAR up 8.7%, while Madinah had the Kingdom’s highest occupancy at 75.1% with RevPAR down 2.4%. They are hotel figures and say nothing directly about apartment yields, but they show that demand and price can move in different directions in the same quarter.
The demand behind it
Hajj 2026 brought 1,707,301 pilgrims, of whom 1,546,655 came from abroad. The first half of 2025 recorded 20.7 million Umrah pilgrims. Arab News reported that the Kingdom targets 30 million Umrah pilgrims a year by 2030, a figure we have from a single press source.
Buyer demand is visible in developer disclosures. Knowledge Economic City reported that 231 of the 351 units in its Al-Alya project in Madinah were reserved by non-Saudi buyers, worth more than SAR 547 million, by July 2026. A single press report says Jabal Omar plans to sell about 400 serviced apartments in 2026, which we have not confirmed with the company. REGA’s spokesman was reported in August 2026 as saying inquiries from UK investors and family offices cover Makkah and Madinah with particular attention; that too is a single press source.
Strong demand does not by itself tell you what a specific unit will rent or sell for.
The vacant-property fee
This rule affects the own-use buyer most. Regulations approved on 13 May 2026 introduce a vacant-property fee of up to 5% per year of a building’s value where it is unused for six months or more, in zones to be announced. The detail matters: a building counts as vacant if unused for 6 months in the reference year whether consecutive or not, the zones are set by decision of the Minister of Municipalities and Housing, cases where occupancy is impossible for reasons beyond the owner’s control are exempted, and the fee is payable within six months of the invoice with a right to object.
No zone has been named in the sources we have reviewed, so nobody can yet say whether a holy-city apartment used only for Umrah will be caught. Two points are settled enough to plan around. The test is whether the unit is used, whoever owns it, and the exemption covers occupancy that is impossible, which is more than inconvenient. If you expect to use the unit a few weeks a year, ask your adviser how a long lease, a family member’s occupancy or an operator arrangement would be treated.
Resale mechanics
Three costs sit around a resale. The 2% non-Saudi fee is levied by REGA on “the value of a non-Saudi’s disposition of real rights in property”, wording that does not state whether purchase, sale or both are covered. The parties allocate that fee between them, so price it as the buyer’s. Zero-rated cases include resale to the original owner within 180 days, estate division, court orders, co-owner partition and developer unit sales within the licence period plus one year. Real Estate Transaction Tax of 5% applies to the transaction value.
Any resale must go through the Real Estate Registry, where the title sits. If your buyer is also a non-Saudi, they will need the same digital ID, bank account and portal route you used.
Questions to ask yourself
- How many nights a year will someone from my family sleep there? The empty-unit rule turns on use.
- If I cannot let it by the night, does the purchase still make sense on a long lease or on no income at all?
- What is the exit? Who would buy it from me, and what would they pay in fees to do so?
- Am I buying a home or a return? If the answer is “both”, which one would I give up?
- Have I seen the licence for the advertisement and the broker, and checked them on REGA’s inquiry service?
- Have I asked a licensed adviser, in writing, about the vacant-property fee and the resale fee, and about the letting permit?
Choosing
If you are buying to use, the route is open and the main unanswered question is the vacant-property fee. If you are buying to let, the path is open for long leases and, on the evidence we have, closed for nightly Umrah lets unless the citizenship condition changes or an operator holds the permit. No source we would cite publishes yield figures yet. Put a quoted price into the cost calculator for both scenarios before you decide.
This is not legal advice. Rules change, and each fact above shows the date we last checked it. Speak to a licensed adviser before you commit money.
Common questions
Or ask us, and our assistant answers from the same sources.
Can I rent my Makkah apartment to Umrah pilgrims by the night?
Short-term letting to tourists needs a Ministry of Tourism private hospitality permit, and the sources we reviewed say the applicant must be a Saudi citizen. We have not found an official statement that this has changed for the new non-Saudi owners. Confirm with the Ministry of Tourism before you count on Umrah-season income.
Can I rent it out on a normal long lease?
Nothing in the ownership law or its regulations restricts a non-Saudi owner from leasing. Any lease, whatever its length, must be registered on REGA’s Ejar platform to be enforceable.
What is the rental yield in Makkah?
We do not know, and we will not guess. None of the Knight Frank, JLL or CBRE material we reviewed publishes a residential yield for Makkah or Madinah. Treat any yield figure you are quoted as a sales estimate.
If I leave the flat empty between Umrah trips, will I pay a fee?
Possibly. Regulations approved in May 2026 allow an annual fee of up to 5% of a building’s value where it is unused for six months in a year, in zones the Minister of Municipalities and Housing announces. Whether any holy-city zone is included is not yet known.
Do I pay the 2% fee again when I sell?
The law and regulations levy the fee on the value of a non-Saudi’s “disposition” of real rights and do not say whether purchase, sale or both are covered. Resale to the original owner within 180 days is zero-rated. Confirm your exit costs with a licensed adviser before you buy.
Where this applies
- MasarZone in Makkah · 12–14 min on foot, at least
- Al-ManarZone in Makkah · too far to walk
- Darat Al-HijraZone in Madinah · 44–53 min on foot, at least
- Knowledge Economic CityZone in Madinah · too far to walk
- 777 branded residences (Masar)Project in Masar, Makkah
- Al-Alya (Knowledge Economic City)Project in Knowledge Economic City, Madinah
Sources
Raghdan Real Estate — tourism hospitality licence guide · 1 Jun 2025
Renting a residential unit to tourists short-term requires a Ministry of Tourism private tourism hospitality facility permit (Ministerial Decision 2295 of 19/5/1444H), applied for on the TLG portal for SAR 1,100 a year, and the sources reviewed state the applicant must be a Saudi citizen, with a limit of 3 permits per building and 8 per person.Trowers & Hamlins — Saudi Arabia landlord and tenant · 1 Aug 2025
Every residential and commercial lease in Saudi Arabia, whatever its term, must be registered on REGA's Ejar platform or it is unenforceable; a tenant can register the contract if the landlord refuses, and the landlord may object within 60 days.SPA — vacant property fee · 13 May 2026
Regulations approved on 13 May 2026 introduce a vacant-property fee of up to 5% per year of value for buildings unused for six months or more, in zones to be announced.GDN — Saudi hotel sector, Makkah RevPAR rises 8.7pc: JLL · 26 Aug 2026
JLL reported that in Q2 2026 Makkah hotel occupancy rose 4.0 percentage points year on year to 68.2% with RevPAR up 8.7%, while Madinah recorded the Kingdom's highest occupancy at 75.1% with RevPAR down 2.4%.REGA — law text, Art. 9 · 25 Jul 2025
The non-Saudi ownership fee is levied by REGA on 'the value of a non-Saudi's disposition of real rights in property in the Kingdom' (Law Art. 9; Executive Regulations Art. 9), wording that does not state whether purchase, sale or both are covered.GASTAT — Hajj statistics · 1 Jun 2026
Hajj 2026 had 1,707,301 pilgrims, of whom 1,546,655 came from abroad.REGA — system enters into force · 22 Jan 2026
In Makkah and Madinah, non-Saudi ownership and real rights are limited to Muslim natural persons (Law Art. 2(4)); REGA states this applies whether residing inside or outside the Kingdom.Premium Residency Law (English, MISA) · 1 Nov 2024
Usufruct rights in Makkah and Madinah of up to 99 years remain available (zone cards show 99 years; Premium Residency Law Art. 2(1)(e)).Saudi Properties portal — zone card labels (zones.rules, English)
On the Saudi Properties portal's zone cards, allowed ownership percentage and usufruct duration are two separate labelled fields, each filled from its own value, so the 99 years is the longest usufruct term a card can show and does not limit ownership.ZATCA — RETT · 10 Apr 2025
Real Estate Transaction Tax is 5% of the transaction value (RETT Law M/84 of 1446H, effective 10 April 2025).Gulf Business — REGA clarification · 8 Jul 2026
The non-Saudi ownership fee is set at 2% in Riyadh, Jeddah, Makkah and Madinah under Executive Regulations Art. 9; the law caps it at 5%.REGA — Real Estate Brokerage Law · 9 Sep 2026
Broker commission defaults to 2.5% of the transaction value unless agreed otherwise in writing, paid by the party who engaged the broker (Brokerage Law Art. 14).Umm Al-Qura — Executive Regulations · 3 Jul 2026
Applicants need a Saudi bank account and a Saudi mobile number linked to their ID, and all payments are made electronically through the SAMA-integrated portal (Regulations Art. 2 and 6).Knight Frank — Saudi Arabia residential market review, H1 2025 · 1 Aug 2025
Knight Frank reported that in the first half of 2025 residential transaction values in Madinah rose 49% year on year to SAR 3.4 billion with volumes up 38%, while in Makkah transaction values fell 33% and volumes rose 11%.Argaam — Umrah H1 2025 · 15 Jul 2025
20.7 million Umrah pilgrims were recorded in the first half of 2025.Zawya — KEC non-Saudi sales · 24 Jul 2026
Knowledge Economic City reported that 231 of 351 units in its Al-Alya project in Madinah were reserved by non-Saudi buyers, worth more than SAR 547 million, by July 2026.SPA — vacant property fee regulations · 13 May 2026
Under the vacant-property regulations announced on 13 May 2026, a building counts as vacant if unused for 6 months, consecutive or not, in the reference year; the zones are set by decision of the Minister of Municipalities and Housing; cases where occupancy is impossible for reasons beyond the owner's control are exempted; and the fee is payable within six months of the invoice, with a right to object.National Law Review — implementing regulations · 6 Jul 2026
Zero-rated cases for the non-Saudi fee include estate division, court orders, donations to the state or waqf, resale to the original owner within 180 days, co-owner partition, and developer unit sales within the licence period plus one year.Real Estate Registry · 9 Sep 2026
The property must be registered in the Real Estate Registry (rer.sa); unregistered deeds are looked up at the Ministry of Justice.Saudi Properties portal — interface text · 9 Sep 2026
Non-resident buyers obtain a Saudi digital ID designated for real estate ownership through the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Saudi embassies).REGA — ad licence inquiry service · 16 May 2024
Anyone can verify a real estate advertisement licence through REGA's ad-licence inquiry service by licence number, contract number or deed.Reported by Knight Frank
Knight Frank — Saudi Arabia residential market review (absence of yield data) · 1 Aug 2025
No published rental-yield figure for residential units in Makkah or Madinah was found in the Knight Frank, JLL or CBRE material reviewed on 10 September 2026; the available data covers prices, transaction volumes and hotel performance only.Reported by Gulf News
Gulf News — Saudis can rent residential units to Hajj pilgrims · 25 Jan 2023
Gulf News reported in January 2023 that Saudi citizens can obtain permits to rent residential units to Hajj pilgrims, capped at three permits per person in one property, after an engineering inspection and a fitness certificate, with permits issued by the Pilgrims' Housing Committee.Reported by Arab News
Arab News — GASTAT REPI Q2 2026 · 20 Jul 2026
GASTAT's Real Estate Price Index for Q2 2026 rose 1.3% year on year, with Makkah region +0.4% and Madinah −4.5%.Reported by Arab News
Arab News — holy cities gain appeal as investment access expands · 30 May 2026
Arab News reported on 30 May 2026 that Saudi Arabia targets 30 million Umrah pilgrims a year by 2030 and that about 1.7 million pilgrims performed Hajj in 2026.Reported by AGBI
AGBI — Jabal Omar to sell 400 flats · 29 Jun 2026
Jabal Omar plans to sell about 400 serviced apartments in 2026 following the eased ownership rules, with buyers applying through the Saudi Properties portal.Reported by Asharq Al-Awsat
Asharq Al-Awsat — REGA on international interest · 28 Aug 2026
REGA's spokesman said in August 2026 that inquiries from UK investors and family offices cover Makkah and Madinah with particular attention.Reported by Umm Al-Qura
Umm Al-Qura — Executive Regulations · 3 Jul 2026
Which party bears the 2% non-Saudi ownership fee is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Where each fact above comes from, with the source’s own date where it gives one.
Information, not legal or financial advice.